Bruce Gilden- 10th May

After thinking about the scale of my work and deciding to go for a large scale, the artist Bruce Gilden came to mind. As you can see in the images below, Gilden’s work is absolutely brilliant and powerful. I am so intrigued by Bruce Gilden’s images and for me personally, they bring about feelings of melancholy due to the fact that the people in the image look withered and unhappy; they aren’t necessarily conventionally attractive, however Bruce Gildon does state that his work is all about the idea of beauty being in the eye of the beholder. I strongly believe in this saying, which first appeared in the 3rd century BC in Greek. It didn’t appear in its current form in print until the 19th century, but in the meantime there were various written forms that expressed much the same thought. Furthermore, I like the fact that these images stick in my head due to the harsh colours and the piercing eyes, which make you feel as though you are being stared out.

The reason for Bruce Gilden coming to mind is due to the way he displays his work, as you can see he prints out his images really large, and I personally feel that this helps to bring out the character in each of the individuals. Furthermore, my Dad, who I will be painting onto an 8ft x 4ft board, has the same coloured skin tone to the people in the images below; red and textured and I have decided to use a variety of different tones to highlight the roughness of the skin.

brucegilden_gall.jpg

As you can see, the photographs effectively go well together; creating a bold statement 

 

Bruce_Gilden_01

I love the expression on this man’s face and the viens, which are running across the guys face get my attention and make me feel slightly uncomfortable. 

Bruce Gilden_Area_Visual_00.png

This man looks to have been in some sort of fight; makes me feel curious to know more about who he is and what he did to get beaten so badly.

Bruce_Gilden_INT_3.jpg

This lady’s bold eyes are striking, as though they are piercing into the back of my head when I look away and so I am forced to keep staring at her. I love how Bruce has really shown a sense of ageing in his images and he makes me think about what I might look like as I get older. 

 

Leave a Reply

