Contemporary Artist-YUE MINJUNO- 1st May

20091130110841_YueMinjuncopy

‘What was important to me was the creation part of painting. But it seems that something has changed. Maybe it’s the way money is becoming more important in society. I’m actually trying to make sense of the world. There’s nothing cynical or absurd in what I do. At first you think he’s happy, but when you look more carefully, there’s something else there. A smile doesn’t necessarily mean happiness; it could be something else.”-Yoe Minjun

yue_minjun_untitled

As you can see in the painting above, Yoe Minjun has in fact painted himself, with a huge grin across his face. Due to the style and the subject of Munjun’s work, some critiques label him as part of the Cynical Realism movement, however Munjun has mentioned in previous interviews, that he does not like to be labelled into any sort of movement or school.

I personally like the fact that Munjun’s first pieces of work were at first, based around self- expression before he built -up his own style.

In my own work, I feel like I have gone down the same route and my final piece will hopefully represent my own style, which I have picked up after having the opportunity to explore what I am capable of, during my time on the course. 

More work by YOE MUJUN pictured below

Leave a Reply

