Whitworth Art Gallery/ The Lowry 29th April

I recently visited the Whitworth Art Gallery in Manchester, where the work of Barbara Brown was being exhibited. Despite my work not really relating to the concept/idea of surface pattern, I still loved looking at her work and it made me think about the set of images, which I originally took in The Tate a few months ago, when I was experimenting, using a longer shutter speed.

I really like the bold patterns of Barbara Brown and her work undeniably reminds me of wallpaper. As you can see, I have uploaded the images repeatedly, as I feel that this effect helps to get a feel of the pattern and how bold and effective it is.

I also noticed that Barbara tends to use colour schemes and pieces the different selections together depending on their colours. Personally, I thought that the pieces of work below where the best due to the size of them put together in the gallery.

18318598_1122331281210799_1720770297_o

Unusually, I’m not drawn to browns, however the pattern below had a retro- type feel to it and it strongly reminded me of an optical illusion.

After I had been to the Whitworth, I decided to go and visit The Lowry, as I have always had a liking for Lowry since I heard the song about him called ‘Matchstick Cats and Dogs’. Furthermore, I love how Lowry manages to capture the variety of different characters within his work, which for me creates a certain sense of humour. The images below; I managed to take just before I got told to stop taking photo’s as pictures were actually prohibited.

Leave a Reply

