Yacht Varnish/Priming – 26th April

18261444_1122316367878957_591033535_o

I have begun preparation for my Final Piece, and as you can see in the image above, the scale of my piece is considerably big and I have already been challenged with some issues.

As you may also notice, I am holding a can of varnish, which is pictured below, which I applied onto my board. Unfortunately though, the finish, which the varnish gave was visually not pleasing and I also felt that it just did not seem to make a difference to the feel of the board; as though the varnish had not effectively worked as a filler.

j.j,j

After I had applied the ‘quick dry varnish’, I decided to go back to wilkinson’s and purchase the ‘clear, satin yacht varnish’, which I then applied to the other side of the board. Overall, the yacht varnish worked well and when I look back at the start of my project, I should have initially bought the yacht varnish instead of being impatient and opting for the ‘quick dry’.

hngm

 

Leave a Reply

