Sketch for Final Piece- 25th April

Below is an image of a quick sketch, which I have drawn out in preparation for my final piece. I have taken some original images of my Dad, which I will be using to paint a portrait on a big scale.

As I have mentioned previously, I am going to be working on one of the biggest scales I have worked on yet. I feel that this sketch has helped me to gain an idea of the impact of the subject and how it will look on a much bigger scale. Overall, I think that I will be moving forward with the pictures, which I shot of my Dad, as I feel that his skin and features will be effective, when I decided to add roughness and texture to my painting.

18142850_1114856298624964_282755858_n

After I had drawn out the first sketch, I did consider thinking about creating a portrait with the subject’s eyes being closed, however once I had completed the piece below, I knew that it would not look right and would definitely not accomplish the impact, which I want my final piece to make.

18109659_1114856295291631_752466925_n

As I have also mentioned in my previous blog, I have been creating some continuous line drawings, which are helping me to become more loose with my method of drawing, which should hopefully flow through to my painting skills.

As you can see the build- up of different lines effectively create a fairly unusual portrait, which I feel works well. The fact that the lines aren’t positioned thoughtfully, adds interest and a quaint sort of element.

Leave a Reply

