Artist Research/ Scale of Work – 14th April

As we draw nearer the final stages of creating our final pieces, I have been thinking about the sizing of my work and the costings, which will be involved with buying all of the tools, which are necessary for completing my piece.

I began by thinking about the kind of impact, which I want to create, when people look at my final piece and so I began by looking into the idea of “How Scale in Art Influences the Viewing Experience”. I discovered from my research, that scale does not actually represent the size of something, but it is more about the size of an object in relation to another.

After recently getting the chance to visit The Tate Modern in London, I got the chance the witness the use of Scale and the impact it personally has on me. Firstly, I cam across the piece of artwork, which is pictured below by Magdalena Abakanowicz, a Polish sculptor, who just recently passed away. I felt that her work held an organic sort of feel, and I am aware that she was very much into the study of biological systems and regeneration. In response to receiving a commission in 1979, for the Venice Benalle, Abakanowicz began to create lots of these soft shapes, which were compared to ‘rounded like bellies, or elongated like mummies”.

I feel that the picture below does not justify the grand scale of the piece as a whole, however when I walked into this exhibit, the concept of the sublime immediately came to mind; I felt overwhelmed and insignificant. When I create my final piece, I want the onlooker to feel dwarfed by the scale of my work.

Contrarily, I would agree that small- scale work can also be just as effective as bigger -scale work, however I have personally never got the chance to go above A1, and so I feel that the Foundation provides me with the perfect opportunity to be brave with size.

After deciding upon my size, I have begun to look at the different types of board, which would be suitable for painting onto and a primer, which would make my painting application easier.

Below, I have created a list of things, which I need to purchase in preparation for my final piece and the estimated cost of the different materials.

  • Winsor & Newton Artists’ Acrylic White Gesso – £8.40
  • Board- £15
  • Paintbrush- £2.59
  • White Oil Paint-2.00

Total approximate cost=27.99

 

Leave a Reply

